The Fred Risser Excellence in Engaged Undergraduate Student Award

Previously the Excellence in Civic Engagement Undergraduate Award, Morgridge Center for Public Service will be naming their Excellence in Civic Engagement Undergraduate Award after Senator Fred Risser.

The Fred Risser Excellence in Civic Engagement Undergraduate Award will recognize an undergraduate student who has made civic engagement integral to their college experience.

Senator Risser has concluded an extraordinary career in elected office here in Wisconsin. It’s safe to say that without your leadership on the State Building Commission dating back as far as 1960, the UW–Madison campus would not be what it is today.

Here at UW, we want to honor his long and steadfast commitment to public service. The mission of the Morgridge Center for Public Service is to connect campus to community through service and learning to build a thriving democratic society. Your decades of service in both the Wisconsin State Assembly and the Wisconsin State Senate are a truly remarkable example of this pursuit.

The application is closed. Any questions or concerns? Email:

Award winners will receive a $400 one time scholarship and will be honored during the spring semester.

2021: Tamia Fowlkes
2020: Payton Wade
2019: Shasparay Lighteard
2018: Taylor Gilbertson
2017: Katherine Kokkinias
2016: Dania Shoukfeh
2015: Jacob Riederer
2014: Caitlin DeVos
2013: Allison Gundlach
2012: Katie Crean
2011: Jennifer Mathison & Allison Frankel
2010: Molly Reddy
2009: Casmir Turnquist-Held
2008: Laura Marie Scheinholtz
2007: Jenna Klink

2022 Recipient Alli Burgdorf

2022 Fred Risser RecipientAlli is the director of the Criminal Justice Reform Team with the Social Justice Hub on campus. As a leader, she educates her members regarding the criminal justice system and encourages engagement with non-profits and projects concerned with providing aide and companionship to those afflicted by the current justice system. Alli has volunteered with the Badger Volunteers program and the Tenant Resource Center.

Alli is also conducting research with the Center for Law, Society and Justice lab under Dr. Pajarita Charles. Alli has not only committed to educating herself on the systemic issues afflicting this country but also took significant steps to support marginalized groups – namely by advocating and protesting. She is committed to internalizing her privilege as a white individual and acting accordingly to promote inclusion and equity across campus and the broader community.


The Be the Change Bash is the Morgridge Center’s annual end-of-the-semester celebration. The Bash honors students, staff, faculty and community partners who contribute their time and talents to both the community and the UW-Madison campus through service.

The event also includes the Morgridge Center’s annual award ceremony.