2014 Meyerhoff Award Winner Announced

The Morgridge Center for Public Service is proud to announce its selection for the 2014 Meyerhoff Undergraduate Excellence Award for Leadership, Service and Scholarship. Lilly Rotter has been named one of 26 campus-wide recipients of the prestigious award.

The awards, made possible through the generous support of Harvey “Bud” Meyerhoff, recognize University of Wisconsin-Madison students who have made outstanding leadership and service contributions to the University and the surrounding communities while maintaining an excellent academic record. Entities across campus select 26 recipients, with each winner receiving $1,000.

“Lilly is incredibly committed to the community beyond campus,” said Morgridge Center Assistant Director of Civic Engagement Megan Miller. “She always impresses me with her willingness to jump into a new project and develop partnerships within the community.”

Lilly’s dedication to civic engagement is extensive. The junior has spent five semesters as a Badger Volunteer through the Morgridge Center, working with St. Vincent de Paul, Red Caboose Day Care, Second Harvest Foodbank and Mendota Elementary School.

Lily has also served as Community Outreach Intern with the Morgridge Center for the last year. In this role, she is responsible for supporting and strengthening current partnerships with community organizations in order to meet critical community needs.

“Perhaps Lilly’s most remarkable quality is her continuous effort to broaden the ways in which she engages with the community. She volunteers addressing homelessness, educational inequality and food security … her efforts are very dynamic,” said Miller. “She sets a great example for all students.”

Additionally, the Sheboygan Falls, Wis., native has taken two service-learning courses for academic credit where she volunteered as a tutor at Sennett Middle School and worked with the homeless through the Road Home’s emergency shelter.

A strong student, Lilly was one of 35 recently admitted to the Bachelor of Social Work program at UW-Madison.

All 26 Meyerhoff Awards recipients will be honored at a campus ceremony on May 9.